Non-Fiction: A Class of Aliens

We gazed persistently at the new class teacher. She had flinched earlier when she entered the class. Although she was quick to recover, we could see past the defense line, the shock was still there. The petite lady who was probably in her early twenties walked straight to her desk. With her back turned to us, we were not really sure of what was going through her mind now, but we certainly knew the real reason for her being here was not known to her. It’s definitely not novel because that is the norm of the school. When we first got here, we were something of a novelty. These days, nobody even bats an eyelid. We remained at arm’s length though we school together with other students. 

Miss Dee as the class teacher introduced herself, was a Corp Member well known as  a Corper. We were used to having a large number of them here. The school administrative officers were always quick to remind them that as a service to the nation; they must impact our lives. They say it like the students were the only ones with defect. The school itself has lost it; the impacting touches. We will continue to show them that we bare the name they call us, with pride… Aliens.

The first period of the class was chaotic. We threw at the class teacher, papers molded in different shapes and forms. Some students left the class without informing the teacher. Some would walk up to her desk, mimic her and the rest would all laugh. The Queens (The Backseats Girls) at the back of the class did not participate, they were so engrossed with their chats or at least, they pretended to be. The Drey boys (a group of three notorious children) popularly know for ditching classes, were unusually quiet. They kept staring at the teacher, who regardless of all, showed no emotions at all. Her eyes continually scanned everywhere. Taking note of everyone.

At the beginning of the second period, she changed. She made sure those that left the class without her permission never entered. They did not mind at first until she said the ban was for the session. Two of the Drey boys, John and Timi were instructed to man the doors. At first, they did it with levity. She searched everywhere for something we could not place and her eyes finally rested on me. She laughed hysterically. I was puzzled. Everyone’s attention was diverted. They stared at me, then back to her. She composed herself after awhile.

“I am very sorry… very sorry you all have to go through a rough life here. I think it is high time you enjoyed a new experience. You need someone to drag you out of the mind shells you all have subjected yourselves to…” She returned her gaze to me. I was not sure I understood what she was saying.

“Do you know what made her noticeable?” Pointing at me. No one answered.

“She was determined to make me leave the class, she threw the first paper at me several times before you all followed…she did not stop even when you all did…” She walked past a group of unattached furniture to the back of the class. We all turned. She had our attention fully. She knew it too.

“It is unethical of me to say, but I must tell you, I do not mind if you all fail… seriously. Your determination to scare me off will not work. I’m stronger than I look…” We all laughed. She truly was. She was not timid, quite a contrast to her petite figure. That was unlike most of us here in class, truly, beneath our stubborn façade, lies fearful hearts. We just wanted to remain what we were tagged. Most of us fear to read and assumed failure is everything.

“Here is the deal, if you all do not get punished at all by the end of next month, I will leave your class. Once you fail, you are stuck with me through out the term, ” She scanned our faces to see our reaction which seemed like it will take forever to show. Some were quick to accept the challenge while others just kept mute. She relaxed a little.

She must have known us for a decade to have come up with such a challenge. None of us have gone past an hour daily without getting punished.

“I am need of new friends anyway… I have got so many things I’d like to share. If you all stay till the end of the term without making any trouble for the school and yourselves, I’ll find a way to make you the school’s pride…”

“How?”, I questioned as I watched her about suppressing a laugh.

“We are known to be bad… Weren’t you not told that we are called Aliens…”, One of the Drey boys said.

“Corper Adedoyin” The Vice Principal interrupted.

“You have got to trust me…”, Miss Dee said over her shoulder as she walked out of the class.

“They seem to like you, how did you do it?” The Vice Principal, Mrs Adewunmi asked. Who obviously has been watching her along with four other principal staff. They must have been waiting for her to storm out of the class like other class teachers had done.

“You don’t give up on your children, do you?” We heard Miss Dee replied the Vice Principal in a way that awed us as she walked back right into the class. We just didn’t have a teacher, we had our best friend from that moment.

 

Leave a comment